Gentle Gifts

Gray sky rolling above me as the light of this new day appears
No laughter from the birds, the whole of the world is stilled
Once more the clouds shed their gentle tears
The land drinks heavily of this mystery sent dew

Puddles replacing dust, proving irresistible to little feet
I turn my face to the sky, feel the gentleness of the mist
It washes away all of my cares, my heart fills with happiness
My spirit lifts like the now awash crops
Life renewed and rebirth clean
And I lift my arms and call out thanks

For this simple gift of rain…

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre September 28th, 2007

Leave a Reply

