Best Friend

You bring laughter and smiles,
When pain makes me cry so hard
You rub tenderly with lotion,
To help heal and cover my scars

You hold me close and warm,
When I find myself lost and cold
And it’s you, there when I reach
Your comforting hand, holding mine so tight

Whenever I trip, to fall on this walk,
You always pick me up, brush the dust, and help
You make me see the glories, the wonders of the heavens
When the darkness closed about me, I blinded by the hell

In the hardest of times, when my hope is but fade
You answer my calls, you help me up again
You give me all the reasons that I would ever need,
To keep holding, keep going, to fight for the life I need

Drowning in pain, it was you come to rescue
Your gentle guidance put me, back on the path
You have loved me forever, always by my side
You are in my heart, my angel, friend, and guide

You may not be with me, our roads drifted apart
But I know you ever there, just out of sight
I miss you so much, and I want you to know
I’ll fight till the end, for you my Best friend……..

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre January 20th, 2008

Leave a Reply

