Forgive Me

I walk the razor edge, tread so thin I fear fall
Spirit forgive me, for this my fear to love
For being so small, in a world so large
Forgive me for not wanting the pain again

I shouldn’t look first, at how easily I bruise
Or hide behind hard shell, beyond any touch
Or pull myself within, staring out with eyes dead
Forgive me my fear, reaching through empty spaces
For taking the love you give, giving nothing in return

Help me stand fast, make me want to try once more
Help me warm my heart again, open the door to feeling
When next love calls, steady my ever running feet
That I may be here, at long last
Ready to love you as I should…..

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre December 25th, 2007

Leave a Reply

