Giving

I think about the kind of person I want to be
I work hard to turn myself into this person.
I will walk with the Great Mystery
Spirits of the old ones at my side
I will make myself positive.
I will develop a good mind.

I look within daily, to see what I did good
And with honest eyes, see what I need improve.
I will examine my strengths and weaknesses
Then ask the Mystery to guide
I will develop a good mind.

Each day, I will listen to the voice on the wind.
I will learn from nature, hold each lesson close
I will seek to walk, the path laid out
By the wise ones come before
And will walk in dignity, honor and humility
Conducting myself as a man.

I will seek the guidance of the old ones
And will keep their culture and songs
And pass them on to the future, for generations yet to come

I choose to do, all these things for myself,
Because no one else can do them for me.
I know I cannot give, what I don’t have
And I want to give a piece of myself……

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre January 15th, 2008

Leave a Reply

