Hidden Love

Heart shattered by long years of pain
This battered old soul, hopeless and wan
A life fallen apart, the darkness surrounds
I reach out, but alas, there’s no one to hold

I hold back the tears, hide them from all
Yet they keep coming back, keep falling, a flood
The fear that she’ll hear, that somehow will know
That she’ll hear my heart calling, across all these miles

Whispers into wind, cries in the night
My love blows like sand, adrift and awash
These wounds I hold, still gaping and bloody
I fear them never healed, never to love again…

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre January 14th, 2008

Leave a Reply

