Why Do You Write

The question posed without malice or critique
A simple reach for understanding from one not driven
One who appreciates, but somehow lacks the overwhelming craving
And yet, looking inside, I seek the answer myself

And the answer is there, whether with words, paint, or song
It is the profound sense of awe I feel when I am able to create
A medium is chosen, thoughts begin to transform, images manifest
Spirit driven, my soul alive and living in the heart of every word, stroke, or beat

The Spirit that lives in the heart of every Artist, Writer, or Dreamer
And the simple truth emerges I write because I must
Because I am…

Author:  Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre January 8th, 2006

Leave a Reply

