Simple Joy

I amble down this dusty deserted road
Touch the stones, kick the broken branches lying at my feet
My thoughts flow in colors of rambling patterns
I am quiet, yet stirring, completely at peace
Look at me, the only one here
All alone in a crowd of millions

I stand apart from all the others
Don’t understand their hurry and rush
An entity alone breathing, and loving
Sensing spirit’s magic touch in everything around me
In the flowers, both pretty and wilting
Huge hewn rock protruding both above and below
Trees bending in gentle bowing winds
Guarding in silence, nature’s proliferate gifts
Children playing, laughing through life’s dance

All the wonders of everything held deep within
Contained safely by the petals of my old heart
Each individual branch, rock, and child
Light gathered through mine eyes, savored in my thoughts
Romping in endless circle, freely through my brain
Memory filled, joyous as a child at play

Give this gift to yourself, I pray
Put aside the hurry and need
Allow that star to remain un-reached for a short time more
Seize this precious moment, this second in time
And reflect on what so many others have lost
The simple joy of life…..

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre December 19th, 2007

Leave a Reply

