Sleepless

Tonight, once again, I lay awake thinking
Mind in turmoil, rapidly spinning
Tight as an over-wound clock

I spent this day, reading their precious words
All of them special, all unique
Intense, passionate, alive

I look to myself, what little I provide
What can I offer for all of their gifts
Well dry, dust blowing, emptiness

These small things, I seem to possess
Frail poetry, washed-out stories at most
Spoken from the depths of my soul

Who is hearing, who understands
As it echoes off a humanity so empty
I think it is now time,
To sleep….

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre December 3rd, 2007

2 thoughts on “Sleepless

  1. Easy, Sleepless….
    This is a wonderful write. I feel as though not only are you a mentor, giving answers, but that you are constantly seeking answers.

    This is a beautiful site. I am glad I dropped in to take a look. I can see now, why you have a devoted group of followers on the web.

    Open, Loving, Sharing, Kind, Intelligent, Practical, Wise….

    These are all words that easily describe YOU!

    I hope your day is/was/will be a blessed one.

    Love in life and after, Mindy

    Like

Leave a Reply

