Spirit of Yesterday

I’ve walked the lands of the ancient ones ..
Long since gone Generations…
I can still feel their laughter ..their pain
I can still hear their songs…..

Hear their drums beating against a darken sky…..
I can still see them dancing…
I can still see horses painted up for war
Still see Mothers and Wives with Tears in their eyes
But Pride in their hearts…

I can hear their Chants….their prayers
Still the memories and pride run deep in my own heart
Filling my soul as it did the People….
Medicine and holy men…..and the Chiefs….
This is My heritage…..This is my history….
The Spirits of Yesterday…Are the Spirits of Tomorrow …….

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre December 23rd, 2005

Leave a Reply

