You

I traveled, beyond the next horizon, over that hill
Somewhere I’ve never been, someone new to meet
The experience of you, to know the silence of your eyes
Understanding your most frail gesture, opening that which encloses
Yet I dare not touch, cannot be this near

Your slightest look, so easy for you to open me
Locked away safe in this cage of my own creation
Never a barrier to you, exposing the core of me
Touching, skillful, mysterious, a first love

Your wish, my wish, to be, close, bond
My life suddenly very beautiful, suddenly
As the heart of the flower, carefully opening a petal
Snow carefully falling, one flake at a time, precise
No wonder perceived in creation can near equal
Power in your fragility, scent, texture of your hair
You compel me with the color of its strands
Rendering death with absence, immortality in a glance

I do not know what it is about you takes me
Deep inside, an opening, something in me understands
The voice of your eyes is far deeper than all the roses
Nothing, not even the rain, can withstand your hands

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre July 22nd, 2008

Leave a Reply

