Transitory End

We’ve traveled this great country, side-by-side we’ve journeyed
Your beautiful blue eyes chasing the shadows dancing on northern skies.
In times of plenty we were content and serene,
Peacefully sleeping, Dangers few and far between.

We’ve also known much hunger, ribs protruding from our sides,
Mournfully we cried when our starving children died.
But remember our first winter, romping thru the glistening snow,
Tasting each crystal snowflake as they fell gently to and fro.

Ah my dear, sweet blue eyes, I’ve known no greater love,
Without you, I am nothing, our wild souls are as one.
Now you lay here before me dying, time wroth agony upon your frame,
Life’s blood slowly seeping as I whisper your sweet name.

Helpless, I watch you struggle, chest heaving with labored breath,
Body getting weaker, the winds whispering the song of death.
The blood has now stopped flowing, I know the time is near,
And you will forever leave me, my love, my life, my dear.

And now my world is silent, your every struggle ceased,
I lay my head upon you, and know you are at peace.
I know your soul has lifted, up to skies where eagles soar,
And there you’ll greet your sisters, and dance with them once more.

And someday in the future, I shall find you once again
And explore that greatest mystery, so far above this shore
And when I do, oncemore our wild souls will unite
In this the greatest love, the world will know….

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre September 12th, 2007

Leave a Reply

