The Long Search

Heart weeping, never-ending loneliness
These years of lingering yearning for completion
Always striving to be strong, stay on path
While the emptiness inside consumes my soul

Brightest sparks of hope, all along the trail
The briefest of encounters, loves beginning bloom
So swiftly fading, so soon to waft away
Left behind, my feelings all crushed and burned

I’ve always known you’re out there
Somewhere out in this grand world
I’ve looked and searched, cast all about
My hope is almost gone

You the love of my whole life
Filling my thoughts and dreams
Dreams of two souls, united and one
The circle grown complete

I lay awake, all night in this bed
Thinking of having you here
I reach across, to caress and love
Chilling emptiness the only thing there

The tears that flow, I try to hide
From all of those close to me
I plant this smile, this happy face
Put act uncaring and free

I want to lay down, give up my strife
Cut adrift this battle to survive
I do not care to journey here
Without you, the love of my life

And as you’re out there, journey free
Please listen for me on the wind
You’ll hear my cry, my quiet plead
I need your heart my friend…

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre September 17th, 2007

One thought on “The Long Search

Leave a Reply

