The Search Ends

Passion burning
Ever building
Age long search for the one
Must quench this fire
Ever glowing embers
Nothing inside but the burn

Must find her at last
Intertwine our journeys
Two souls bonding as one
But the walls are there
All the painful reminders
Hurts from a far-flung time

I’m hesitant and shy
I don’t want to cry
Afraid to reach out again
But I need her beside me
My life to complete
Visions of a life now whole

Dreams of connection
Of sharing this walk
And letting our passion unfold
Remnants of my life
Now seem wasted and pale
My search seems to grind to a stop

The trail mostly stale
My hopes almost gone
Can ever I fill this void
Or quell the smoldering ashes
Of that which was once my heart…

And there she is….

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre September 30th, 2007

Leave a Reply

