The Plea

Oh great mystery,
Whose voice I hear on the winds
Winds the life giving breath of all
I beg you listen to my plea

I am but one of your many children
So weak, ignorant, and small
I need your wisdom and strength

I ask for your help to walk in peace and beauty
To ever find joy in your magnificent regal sunsets
Teach my hands to respect the things you have made
And allow me to listen, and so to hear your voice

Make me wise, so that I may understand the lessons you teach
All of your lessons hidden within each leaf, tree, and rock
I beg you for this gift of wisdom and strength
Not to be better to my brothers, but to ready for my greatest fight
The fight with my most powerful of enemies; myself

Then I will be ready to come back to you with clear heart and upright eye
And on that day, when this life ebbs away as a fading sunset
My spirit may come back to you without shame

And for this gift, and the magical gift of life around me
I lift my arms on high and give thanks
I will not forget…

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre September 16th, 2007

Leave a Reply

