Steps Along the Path

I am attempting to become a true practicing idealist and to do so allows each step I take along the way to become worthy of my goal.

The ideal sometimes seems so remote and unreachable that at times any means, however reprehensible, can seem justified. To change the world for the better, I must begin by changing my own life. There is no other way.

I begin by accepting my own worth as a part of the universe, and by granting every other being that same recognition and respect.

I must take small practical steps, often when I would prefer to take giant ones, but I must move in the direction of my ideals through action.

If I want to change my world, I must first change my thoughts, expectations, and beliefs.

I cannot kill in the name of peace, for if I do so my methods will automatically undermine my ideal.

I must be automatically tolerant of the beliefs of others.

I must look for man’s basic good intent and in looking I will find it for it has always been there.

The end does not justify the means. Learning that lesson allows my good intent to let me act effectively and creatively in my own experience, and in building my relationships with others.

I don’t believe in “The War Against” something, but instead believe in working to create a better tomorrow.

My growing enlightenment and newfound understanding will affect the mental atmosphere of my nation and the people of the world, creating the ideal I seek and making all life better as a whole.

Join me….

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre, July 11, 2009

One thought on “Steps Along the Path

Leave a Reply

