To Carry On

This new day
I awoke and I knew
You were really gone
Drab new day, no new way,
Eyes blinded to see the dawn.
You gone your own way, I left to go mine
How do I now carry on?

The clear sky above, stars filling the night
Will I ever have cried enough?
How will the sun ever shine again?
This empty darkness hast come into my world
I need rejoice, what other choice?
I must carry on

Fables and visions of loves now long gone
Memories of us together, singing our songs of love
All bear witness to the quickness of the end
These petty differences that drove us apart
How did we allow so little to become so much
I now sing not but the blues, dues we paid lost to the past
Tell me how do I carry on

Where are you gone now my love?
Where gone our happiness, our tomorrows?
Do you too think of the bliss we could have had?
Do you too live now with the sorrow of what we lost?
Questions of a thousand dreams, plans of tomorrow
What do you now see?
Lover, can you not walk again with me?

Again on my own, empty heart yearning once more
I would chase you down, yet what was it made you run?
I try my best just to get around, move on with my life
Still the questions of a thousand dreams
What do you now see?
Lover, can you not walk again with me?

Can you not walk again with me?…

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre August 9, 2009

Leave a Reply

