Grandfather’s Lessons

My grandfather helped me form my connection to Spirit. He taught me how to listen, listen to the lessons Spirit has filled every thing in this world with. He taught me to respect, not just the people, animals, trees, plants, and land, but myself too, because without holding honest respect for myself I would lose the ability to respect everything else. He taught me to share all I have with who or whatever has need.  He taught me to love all of creation freely, without fear or regret, and with tolerance and without judgment.

My grandfather taught me how to accept a gift, with thanks and humbleness, and to honor all gifts by using then as intended, without greed or abuse. In this path I have walked I have learn much from all around me. Yet there is still much to learn. I know that my grand-father would be greatly saddened if he looked down and saw me allowing a book or another person to stand between me and Spirit. I am as much a part of Spirit as every other thing in existence, and I will never lose my own personal connection.

I hold to myself to be what I know I should be. I will always try to find the best I can in any and all I meet. To walk with honor, holding to compassion, charity, and above all truth. I will do my best to avoid giving judgment and to accept the right of all others to walk their own paths. I know I will fall short of what I should be many times in the future as I have done so in the past, but I will do the best I can to live this gift of life as best I can.

And as I move through this journey, I will try to help as much as I can with what few gifts I have, not for money or physical things, but because it is the right thing to do and to try to repay Spirit for the many gifts he has given me. I know it sometimes seems that all is darkness around us in these times, but know this; we all have the power to drive the darkness away simply by living as we always should. I would much rather work toward something good than war against something bad.

Walk in peace and beauty,

Steve ’Easy’ Whitacre Nov. 9th, 2006

One thought on “Grandfather’s Lessons

Leave a Reply

