Mystery, I Beg

Great mystery, I beg, use me as your instrument for peace

Where there is hate, let me bring love
For hate cannot stand before love and enlightenment

Where there is injury, let me bring healing
For with care and nurture, injury can be overcome

Where there is doubt, allow me to bring truth
For with truth and knowledge faith returns
And where there was despair, faith will bring hope

Where there is darkness, let me bring light.
Where there is sadness, joy.

Grant that I do not seek to be consoled, as to console.
Not desiring to be understood, as to understand.

I would rather love, as to be loved.
For I know it is in giving that we receive.
In pardoning that we are pardoned.
And in dying, that we are reborn to eternal peace.

Allow the beauty of the night sky and still waters.
Restore once more my faith in mankind.

Show me again how to love my brother,
Allow that my heart be open, so I may understand.

We may seem different from each other.
Yet, we’re not so different after all.

We’re all here for one reason, the same reason
Duty bound to spread peace and love
Among all life, all races, across this world.

Reach out and touch your brother.
Take his hand and start the circle anew.
One hand within another, Spirit smiling from above…..

Steve ‘Easy’ Whitacre December 27th, 2007

Leave a Reply

