My Faith

  The Tao te Ching (the way and its power)will serve as your spiritual companion and gently guide you to higher consciousness. Written 25 centuries ago, the Tao has been translated more than any book, excepting the holy bible. In ancient China, during the Zhou dynasty, Lao Zi (“the old child”) penned the Tao as a handbook for leaders. Note: Lao Zi is often spelled Lao Tzu. Do not let the fact that it is written in esoteric language dissuade you from studying and learning to live the Tao principles, if you yearn for the wisdom of inner-peace, personal balance and Truth. Today, Taoism is a Chinese religion though for me it is more of a philosophy, focusing on the principles of the Tao.

  Let me begin by identifying my personal Tao persona. In Chinese, Te is a virtuous person; a person who lives an authentic life. How many of you have searched for the way to live authentically? I know I have. Like other spiritual work, walking the Tao path is a process, which one may practice for a lifetime. Here are a few traits of the Tao person. As you continue your studies, you will discover more. To follow the Tao I respect the cycles of nature and honor all of its co-creations. I embrace change. I strive to detaches from problems focusing rather on knowing solutions will come. I realize nothing is the experience itself, but how I perceive it. I strive to hold great love for the simple, instead of the complex. I am often asked “What is the Essence of the Tao?” The essence of Tao is contained in the first line of the Tao Te Ching (the way and its power). Tao One – “The Tao that can Tao is not the eternal Tao.” Note: Tao is both a verb and noun and means many things, for example, “spiritual path” and “to speak” and “change”. Sit with the quote for awhile. If you are keeping a Journal to Inner-Peace write the first line of Tao One and any insights you receive in your journal. Note: Though I prefer working with the original translation, you may find the more “modern translations” easier to comprehend at the beginning of your path.
  Things to Ponder about the Tao te Ching. The Tao is the nameless source of all-that-is. In other cultures and beliefs it might be called God, Allah, The Great Mystery, or perhaps even The one. We need but remember that as part of the greater whole, the Tao person accepts what-is, what we are, and the potential of what we are becoming. We can’t speak of Tao because it is nameless and wordless.
The Tao that could be spoken of is not the eternal Tao, because the Tao is a process that we practice, a constant state of learning and moving forward. If you start walking the Tao path to wisdom, you will claim it as your “handbook” and most likely will carry it about with you. I would recommend for you to read it slowly. Read it again. Read random passages. Journal about the way and its power. Ponder…
  I have two versions on my website, the first at https://ohioeasy.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/tao/ and the other at https://ohioeasy.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/thesingingtao/
Both found in the Other Writings section of my site.
Leave a Reply

