Our Life and Love

My life a lost nightmare when you first joined bringing light
Year after year of hard struggle, yet you stayed at my side
You blessed me with my son, even more joy to my life
And together working hard to build what we have
And then you brought me my daughter to love and to hold
And through more long years of struggle still we held firm
Then a crisis unimagined as I worked as a slave
But again you stood beside me, helped rebuild, carry on
Through all my years of teaching, you my standard for love shared
Again came more crisis, made me ready for my trip home
This time too much for us both, divorce raised it’s ugly head
But even then with shared sadness, not anger or hate
After long lonely years we both learn to love another
Both sharing of ourselves, rebuilding, love renewed
Then many years of happiness, loves building, joy returned
Tho even with our new loves, our love for each other still strong
I lost mine first, could no longer share of my pain, no fault to her
And tho I still love her, selfishly left for my solitude alone
Then true tragedy struck you and Ron, damn cancer took him home
I remember my tears flowing as I sat writing you my poem Grief
My heart truly breaking to think of you in such pain
And somehow back together, perhaps fate stepping in
I remember your words, “Steve, would you marry me again?”
And here we are, our second coming, building again, round two
Yet our shared love even stronger, more important, most true
And for whatever time I have left I will continue to hold
For I love you dear wife, with all my heart and soul…
Leave a Reply

