America

America never was America to me,
I was born in a time of dire war,
Not an odd thing, for America has always been at War,
Since it’s very beginnings, War after War,
Rivers of Blood flowing around ravaged bodies,
Men, Women, and Children trampled under an imperial boot.
Never did I stand in a classroom swearing allegiance,
For I could not while the people of America allowed these atrocities,
I was quite simply appalled at the lack of morality,
The total lack of humanity and care,

The Great Mystery calls, the time past do for change,
We must gather as a people and remove the evil leaders,
We must together build a united peaceful future,

And therein I swear this oath–
America will be!

Leave a Reply

