Damaged Goods

Oh to be happy

I need to be happy

My life seems to be a waste

Only damaged goods all say

Ruined by long years of addiction

Once young, happy, with great future ahead

Now all but lost, ruined, only a dregs of this world

Where gone all my hopes, my dreams, my love, my care

Where gone now that child of wonder staring at moon lit sky

I sit here alone, my own pity, my own shame and tears

No hold on life, family driven off, no true friends

What’s this, a whisper, a tiny glimmer of new

A feeling forgotten, cast off, ignored

Dim light doth shine around me

Changes, a growth, strength

I reach out to embrace

The heart of me

A warmth

Calm

I suddenly somehow know, still time to turn around, a hope

From nowhere, strength, courage, drive, all flood in

I meet a wonder, a smile, dry, clean, offers help

And I reach out, desperate for anything

This new friend, understands, knows

No judgement or censor, only care

Has been here themselves

But they’ve won

Are winning

Life again

A start

How can I

Do I dare but try

Fear the risk, the pain

I still dwell on failures past

I fear not to be worthy, too far gone

But new friend, hand on shoulder, positive

I begin to believe, to dream, to know

Hard work together, but forward

A struggle yes, but we continue

I slide back, but begin anew

Must win, not give up

And I know will

I become

Grow

Am

I grow weary

Confidence is fading

But my friend reaches out

Strength and courage is the lend

The battle continues, a war for my life

Together we fight it, one small step at a time

Day by day I get better, a community do I meet

New friends by the hundreds, much help, much caring

And I’m winning, I am, each day be a lot the better

Yet never to lose the knowing, I must battle still

Each day more growth, my family talks again

My new life a wonder, this my newest world

A brightness surrounds me, all hope anew

I walk in the glow, with a soul

Discover I can help now

Others in the seeking

I reach out, care

Gently lead

Guide

Is this reason

I question this all

Is this my new meaning

A driving force now fills me

Without want, or need I find must

A calling, this great thing, this I must do

And I hold to the bright day, allow it to shine

They reach out and I answer, giving the all of myself

And I suddenly realize, I’m that stranger that helps

I share love, understanding, guidance and care

We together begin, their new voyage to life

I join in their battle, together we fight

And grow they do now, small steps

Each day a bit better, new hope

I can rejoice in this sharing

Their climb from the dark

Falter as they may

Help them I do

For my life

I always

Will..

Like a blinding flash, I suddenly realize that by being able to freely give, without expecting anything ever in return, I have become what I was always intended to be. A happy, loving, caring human being, in touch with my inner self and filled to the bursting with a loving soul, moving through this journey, able to make this world around me all the better. With each giving, I grow more and more. And the more I grow the more I can give. You too have this within you, just as you too can make a difference in your world, and in yourself. I see your future, and it is great!

Easy

 

Leave a Reply

